Bob and Weave

Musings of an impostor. Welcome to the masquerade.

The Weekend Is Here! 9-16-16

Posted by flyingbk on 09/16/2016

Each Friday, I’ll include various links that I enjoyed and sprinkle in some commentary along the way. Let’s do this.

  1. I wrote extensively this week about how foolish it is to punt in certain situations (certainly be on the lookout all football weekend: pro, college, even high school). In his wonderful podcast, Malcolm Gladwell touches briefly on this topic. Episode 3: The Big Man Can’t Shoot is a must-listen not just for the sports angle, but because it’ll really make you think about why we don’t (and sometimes do) stand up for the things we actually believe to be true. After listening, I now want to be more like Rick Barry.
  2. I spent a lot of time earlier this week meditating on this Tim Challies piece on what God does with our sin. I had the privilege of hanging out a couple days at Long Beach Island two weeks ago, and I actually imagined the crashing waves washing over all my sin. I also visited Barnegat Lighthouse at the north end of the island, and was immediately struck by its color scheme.

    0dcc89c898e11b24038cf94b885e1348

    This pattern vividly reminded me of Isaiah 1:18 (NIV):

    “Come now, let us settle the matter,” says the Lord.
    “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow;
    though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool.”

    Hallelujah for what God does with my deep scarlet, my utterly despicable thoughts and acts.

  3. I’m heading to the Mets game tonight. This will be my 10th game at Citi Field this year (sad but true: Record is 4-5). It’s the homestretch for the good guys, with 16 games left against bad opponents. I’m still uneasy, but hopefully they’ll win tonight with Big Sexy on the mound.

    2ikk2wt-01

    One important note: James Loney is freakin’ terrible. There’s actually a cadre of Mets fans who like Loney, and think he’s better than Lucas Duda. Talk about fans gone wild and completely insane. Loney is basically a left-handed version of Eric Campbell, with less speed and less defensive flexibility. Lucas Duda is actually a very good defensive first baseman (I know, I know, that throw in the World Series…). And he was ione of the top 20 hitters in the baseball the last two years.

  4. The 15th anniversary of 9/11 has passed, but I wanted to share this inspiring story. I’m forever floored by the heroism displayed on that tragic day.

    Have a wonder-filled weekend, everyone! The weather (esp. today and tomorrow in NY/NJ) should be out of sight!

Leave a Reply

 
