Bob and Weave

Musings of an impostor. Welcome to the masquerade.

Weekend Devotional 5-16-14

Posted by flyingbk on 05/16/2014

I promise that one of these days, I will write an original devotional. But for now, here’s one I wrote to my church to kick off the Lent season. Be blessed!

Psalm 27:1-6, NIV
The Lord is my light and my salvation—
whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the stronghold of my life—
of whom shall I be afraid?
2 When the wicked advance against me
to devour me,
it is my enemies and my foes
who will stumble and fall.
3 Though an army besiege me,
my heart will not fear;
though war break out against me,
even then I will be confident.
4 One thing I ask from the Lord,
this only do I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
all the days of my life,
to gaze on the beauty of the Lord
and to seek him in his temple.
5 For in the day of trouble
he will keep me safe in his dwelling;
he will hide me in the shelter of his sacred tent
and set me high upon a rock.
6 Then my head will be exalted
above the enemies who surround me;
at his sacred tent I will sacrifice with shouts of joy;
I will sing and make music to the Lord.

I was recently challenged by something I read by Francis Chan. I’d like to share it with you:

What is the one thing you keep asking of the Lord (Psalm 27:4)? If there was a transcript of your prayers over the last few weeks, what would it show is the main thing you are asking for? Would it be God himself? Is the chief desire expressed in your prayers to dwell with God and gaze at his beauty?

I know that this is not the case for me. Whether it be praying for my own needs or even praying for others, I fall short of David’s desirous prayer in Psalm 27:4.

Making Psalm 27:4 a lynchpin of our prayer lives has many salutary effects:
1) We’re reminded that prayer is ultimately a conversation with God, and not just about asking him for things.
2) It cuts against the cultural norm that we always need to be productive and on the go (spending time adoring God can feel like a waste of time at first).
3) “We become what we behold.” Spending time in worship of God ensures that we shall become more like God and better reflect His attributes.

It’s also important to note the context of Psalm 27. Verses 2-3, 5-6 show us that it’s in the midst of struggle and conflict. Sometimes we think to ourselves, “When I have more time, and/or life is less chaotic, then I’ll prioritize my relationship with God.” This is a most dangerous thought to have. Not only because life seems to always get more chaotic, but also because we miss out on what God wants to show and teach us in the midst of our current life situation (hence the seeking and inquiring of him in the temple at the end of v. 4).

The beginning of Lent is a great time for us to re-organize our prayer lives, specifically how we pray and how often we pray. Let us consider how we can pray for our church and others, but most of all, let us not neglect the need to behold and adore God in all His splendor and beauty.

Leave a Reply

 
