Bob and Weave

Musings of an impostor. Welcome to the masquerade.

The Most Important Principle for Productivity

Posted by flyingbk on 05/02/2014

I’m currently reading Matt Perman’s What’s Best Next: How the Gospel Transforms the Way You Get Things Done, and I was struck by the Q&A he does with Wayne Grudem:

Q: What is the most important principle for being productive?
A: Without question, Bible reading and prayer, before the day begins, every day.
Q: Why do you say that?
A: Because it’s where I come into the Lord’s presence. When you read his word, he speaks to your heart and mind.
-Perman, p. 127, emphasis mine

For the longest time, I have been “that guy.” The guy who starts a new Bible reading plan on Bible.com, but one week later, he’s clicking on the “Catch Me Up” button because he’s already fallen behind. Then he clicks again a week later, and soon enough, it’s game over. A month later, he’ll try again with a new reading plan (and there’s always new ones to try out with fresh new devotionals from famous people!).

But I am thankful that I can testify that through the first third of 2014, I have been successful in keeping up with the M’Cheyne One Year Reading Plan (link is a PDF). At most, I’ve been just one day behind. I also have been supplementing my Bible reading with devotions from D.A. Carson’s For the Love of God, Volume 1 and Volume 2.

And the results have been life-changing. I feel more in tune with God’s voice, I’m more excited about walking with the Lord, I enter into God’s presence more readily, and yes I am more productive than ever before. Grudem is definitely on to something.

If you have fallen behind in your Bible reading, or like me, constantly started and stopped, I encourage you to engineer a fresh start in the Word. May that be our #1 priority, day in and day out, at the start of each day.

Leave a Reply

 
