Bob and Weave

Musings of an impostor. Welcome to the masquerade.

Principles for 2012

Posted by flyingbk on 12/29/2011

Yeah, I’m not calling them ‘resolutions’ anymore. That”s because I’ve failed so many times in keeping them, and thus that word arrives packed with more baggage than that of someone who primarily feeds their soul with reality TV shows.

I’m getting older and older (a truth which my youth group kids love to remind me of), but I still relish the start of a new year and the fanfare and promise that it brings. I always call to mind Isaiah 43:18-19:

Forget the former things; 
   do not dwell on the past. 
See, I am doing a new thing! 
   Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? 
I am making a way in the desert 
   and streams in the wasteland. (NIV)

I love that we serve a God who absolutely loves to do new things in our lives. Because of Jesus, we’re not prisoners of our past, and we can always start anew today. We don’t have to wait until the Times Square countdown reaches zero; that’s why I’m starting these principles a couple days early!

Here’s what I have so far:

1) Don’t text when a phone call is better. Texting is convenient when you need to inform a group of people about something. Otherwise, I’m planning on going back to real human interaction with all its awkwardness and glory.

2) Sleep earlier. Be in bed by midnight with only (if any) a Kindle in hand. I sleep too late and I wake up too late. And I waste too much on my smartphone in the evenings. If I want to read before sleeping, then let it be purposeful reading (i.e. working on finishing a book).  There are exceptions to this principle, mainly on Sunday (since Monday is my day off) and Friday nights (I usually come home late after church).

3) Read 52 books in 2012. Yes, that’s a book a week. And honestly, I don’t think I can reach it. But why not aim high? More importantly, though:

3a) Read books that will help me grow and go deeper. I’ve realized that much of my reading in 2011 was only for pleasure. There’s nothing wrong with pleasure reading, but I don’t want to mainly hang out in the shallow end.  Specifically, I will be targeting books that will help me with preaching, pastoring, leadership/people skills, and instill in me a deeper understanding and appreciation of the gospel. My favorite genre, the historical nonfiction narrative, and various fiction will always be there, anyway.

4a) Eagerly desire the gift of prophecy. This one came to me as I was praying at church over the weekend. 1 Corinthians 14:1 (NIV) commands us to “Follow the way of love and eagerly desire spiritual gifts, especially the gift of prophecy.” I love how there’s a  clear relationship between the way of love and the gift of prophecy. As I seek to love God and people well, and eagerly desire this gift, I will grow in this gift! Pretty cool stuff! May I be one who “speaks to men for their strengthening, encouragement and comfort” (1 Cor. 14:3, NIV). Amen.

4b) Seek to grow in the fruit of patience. 

Of course, I won’t be perfect in implementing these principles. Not even close. But they represent goals to which I am aspiring, and I hope that I follow the words of Proverbs 4:25-27 (NIV): “Let your eyes look straight ahead, fix your gaze directly before you. Make level paths for your feet and take only ways that are firm. Do not swerve to the right or the left; keep your foot from evil.”

One Response to “Principles for 2012”

  1. […] finished my principles post. Included in that post is the desire to read more relevant books that will promote personal and […]

Leave a Reply

 
