Bob and Weave

Musings of an impostor. Welcome to the masquerade.

The good and the bad in VA

Posted by flyingbk on 10/29/2010

Well, here’s my post about the good and the bad so far here in southeastern Virginia. This is more about my life here, not my church and ministry (which, btw, is great!).

THE GOOD: Standard of living is a lot cheaper here. Sales tax is only 5%. A meal at a fast food restaurant here is about 20% cheaper than at the same place in NJ/NY. Couple that with the fact that the church ladies feed me lunch often while I usually cook breakfast and dinner at home, and I really don’t spend a lot of money at all.
THE BAD: Even though it’s still cheaper here, this area of Virginia has a whopping 11.25% restaurant tax. That’s just crazy. And there is a clothing tax, unlike in NJ.

THE GOOD: My apartment is great. My church helps me with the rent, and it’s a lot cheaper for a bigger place than it would be in NJ/NY. My bedroom especially is huge, and I don’t know what to do with all that space (save my wonderful queen-size memory foam mattress, it is heavenly). My apartment also features a walk-in closet, a full washer/dryer and an outdoor patio.
THE BAD: Maintenance is slow to respond, and my apartment has had a few problems (refrigerator leaks a lot, bathtub drains poorly, my washer doesn’t work perfectly). Still, not much to complain about here.

THE GOOD: People are nice here, and almost everyone says hi. The hospitality at stores and restaurants is of much higher quality than in NY/NJ.
THE BAD: There’s actually a lot of crime where I live (Newport News, VA). I subscribe to the local paper here (The Daily Press), and almost everyday, there’s a full-page ad featuring the most wanted in this area. And I’m always reading about crimes. It does appear to me that a few policemen live in my apartment complex, so I guess that’s helpful.

THE GOOD: Cox Cable and Internet > Time Warner.
THE BAD: Verizon FIOS is not available where I live. Yet. Cox is better than Time Warner, but has its issues.

THE GOOD: I love how EVERYTHING is within a 10-minute drive of my apartment. Whether it’s any restaurant, store, market, mall, gym, or my church, I can get to wherever I need to go quickly. Seriously, you name it, I can get to it. Also, for the most part, you can make U-turns just about anywhere.
THE BAD: The reason U-turns are completely legal is because the roads are quite wide. Let’s say I want to get to this place that’s south on the same street. I would have to drive north, make a U-turn, and then proceed further south, and finally make another U-turn to get to that place. Definitely much more of an hassle than NJ, although I guess it can be similar to getting to some places in NYC.

THE GOOD: There are restaurants here that they don’t have in NJ/NY such as Chick-Fil-A, Dairy Queens w/grilled food, more drive-thru Starbucks, Bojangles (although I don’t know if it’s any good), and of course, Waffle House! Also, IHOP’s are the 24 hour places here (like how all the NJ diners are open all the time).
THE BAD: Obviously, there are no good Korean restaurants in the area, and there’s less choice across the ethnic palette. If you do want to eat other cuisines, you may have to drive a while.

THE GOOD: There’s a good mix of choices, not that I’ve yet to partake. Beaches are nearby,and there’s a lot of history in the area (i.e. museums, forts, and yes, war re-enactments). Richmond and Norfolk/Virginia Beach have their share of arenas and theatres.
THE BAD: No professional sports teams! Virginia is the largest state in America not to have a professional sports team! What’s up with that?

So overall, life is good here. I still need to explore a lot more, and I’d like to get to know my neighbors some (I’ve yet to run into whoever lives right across from me). Then again, it’s only been three weeks so far. Stay tuned!

2 Responses to “The good and the bad in VA”

  1. kay said

    i love you

  2. team chengham said

    i forget that virginia doesn’t have any sports teams. maybe that’s why i’m such a confused sports fan. btw, i had no idea that VA charged 11.25% restaurant tax! glad you’re settling in well.

Leave a Reply

 
