Bob and Weave

Musings of an impostor. Welcome to the masquerade.

Surf’s Up 10-13-10

Posted by flyingbk on 10/13/2010

Well I’ve been very busy with my move here to Newport News, Virginia. But I don’t want to get into the habit of not blogging, so here’s a short and sweet version of some handy links:

EDUCATION
Michelle Rhee is out as D.C. schools chancellor. That’s a shame because she was doing some great work and providing a system of accountability, which is way long overdue in our country. Jonah Goldberg tells us how education is liberalism’s greatest failure.

SPORTS
I have not yet read this article yet, but I hear that it is quite explosive.

Gotta love these back pages after the Jets took care of Minnesota. Brett Favre is the NFL player I abhor the most, so I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this past week’s news cycle regarding him.

This is a little overboard, but a good reminder to us all how good ESPN’s 30-for-30 documentary entitled The Two Escobars was. I recorded last night’s Once Brothers, which is about the friendship between Vlade Divac and Drazen Petrovic (my middle school NBA idol), and look forward to watching it soon.

Craig Calcaterra breaks down why Sandy Alderson makes very good sense for this next Mets’ GM job.

MISCELLANEOUS
My friend and colleague Rich posted some deep thoughts about the rescue of the miners. Please support his blog!

I really don’t get what CNN was thinking by hiring and slotting Eliot Spitzer into its 8pm slot. CNN’s ratings are tanking, which is not a surprise considering that their programming director appears to be taking lessons from NBC.

This is an old post, but Pastor C.J. Mahaney reminds us why it’s worth reading a lot.

Abortion clinic director gone wild.

Let’s love our pastors well!

If you love words like I do, this is a good read.

The video of the day is one of my favorite songs: “Forever” by Red, AKA the best band in the universe. Their third album is coming out in February, I can’t wait!

COMING TOMORROW: At last, a review of The Snakehead.

Leave a Reply

 
