Bob and Weave

Musings of an impostor. Welcome to the masquerade.

Surf’s Up 9-28-10

Posted by flyingbk on 09/28/2010

So how about my Chicago Bears? Yes, I have been a proud Bears fan since they captured Super Bowl XX back in January 1986. Since I’ve been a fan, they seem to follow a similar pattern: They’ll stink for a couple years, then out of nowhere they’ll have a surprisingly good year (like their run to the Super Bowl 4 years ago). It’s looking like this is one of the good years. Yay!

SPORTS

It continues to boggle my mind how bad NFL coaches are in the area of clock management. Last night’s Bears win over the Pack is a perfect example: Late in the game, with the score tied, the Bears are facing a 2nd-and-goal at the Packers’ 3. Bears coach Lovie Smith should have his team take two knees in order to drain the clock, and then kick the game-winning chippie field goal; Packers coach Mike McCarthy should let the Bears score on the next play so that they can save a timeout and allow All-World quarterback Aaron Rodgers to lead his team on a game-tying drive.

Instead, it became a case of Tweedledumb and Tweedledumber. Smith tried to score twice (with two Matt Forte runs), and McCarthy had his defense play straight up and stop the Bears. The result: An easy 19-yard field goal splits the uprights with four seconds left, and the Bears win. Wow. How stupid can you be? And the sad thing is, most NFL coaches would have played it the same way; they’re really that dumb.

McCarthy’s explanation after the game:
“I did not consider letting them score at the end,” McCarthy said of the Bears. “I felt they [would miss] a field goal in the end.”

Everyone join me and LOL at him. You, sir, are DUMB.

Let’s give major props to Josh Hamilton, who decided not to celebrate with his Rangers teammates in a champagne-drenched locker room. God bless him.

Major League Baseball commissioner Bud Selig lives the good life. Check out the money quote in the 4th paragraph.

A nice feature on Mets’ first baseman Ike Davis and his work to raise awareness of the Holocaust.

I haven’t watched the more recent ESPN 30-for-30 documentaries, but I will definitely check out this one on Drazen Petrovic and Vlade Divac. Draz was my favorite NBA player when I was in middle school; I was almost in tears when I found out about his tragic death.

I am not a Woody Paige fan, but I appreciated his candor regarding suicide in this piece.

PERSONAL

I leave for Newport News, Virginia in 11 days. I admit that recently, I have been wondering, “WHAT AM I DOING??” But reading this blog entry by Trevin Wax was a help. I also had a good talk with the senior pastor and education elder yesterday, which buoyed my spirits.

I am looking forward to embracing the culture and way of life there, and this blog entry offers me some tips on how to do so.

Last week, I demonstrated how the New York Times pushed the fallacy of moral equivalence. Turns out that James Taranto and I were on the same page, as he noted the same thing I did. But he also makes another good point regarding the story about the violence aimed toward Christians in Indonesia:
Note the way he words that: Not Islamic supremacists attacked Christians, but their “rally” “turned violent.”

Ugh. And they teach you in journalism not to use the passive voice!

IN THE NEWS

A fascinating article on how Afghan women are forced to pretend to be males, and how it’s hard to switch back when it’s time to get married. The article reminded me of the movie Osama, one of the best foreign films I’ve ever seen.

Surprisingly, the super liberal San Francisco Chronicle refuses to make an endorsement in the 2010 California Senate race. I’d love nothing more than to see Barbara Boxer go down, but I am very skeptical. Maybe this non-endorsement helps, though.

Oy, what is going on here?

MISCELLANEOUS

Meet the original 40-year old Virgin.

You, sir, are an idiot.

Psych has been renewed for another season by USA! I love this show, it just makes me happy.

This is also good news, as I am a big Norm McDonald fan.

MUSIC
I leave you with one of my favorite songs these days, Fireflight’s “Core of my Addiction.” Every time this song plays on my iTunes/iPod, I got pumped. “I wanna live, but I would die for you… I’m addicted!” Awesome.

2 Responses to “Surf’s Up 9-28-10”

  1. Anonymous said

    Isn’t running twice for a chance to score same as taking a knee?

    Imma miss u

    • flyingbk said

      ha who is this?
      no it’s not the same.. Lovie should’ve taken a knee, and drained the clock to kick the FG. If he runs a play (which he did twice), the Packers can let the Bears score in order to get the ball back.

Leave a Reply

 
