Bob and Weave

Musings of an impostor. Welcome to the masquerade.

musings 10-26-09

Posted by flyingbk on 10/26/2009

Note to self: When launching a new blog, do not get sick in the 2nd week of operation. Also, do not let your computer get sick. My trusty PC encountered a virus, leading to a reformatting. It’s the first problem I ‘ve had in 3 years.

Here’s a few things concerning what’s been on my mind of late:

  • I caught an explosive report by 60 minutes last night entitled “The $60 Billion Fraud” on how easy it is to rip off Medicare and Medicaid. If you don’t have the patience to watch a 14-minute video, click on the link and then click on the link on the right called “Easy Money.” And then ask yourself if our president was either brazenly misleading us or being mind-numbingly naive when he proclaimed that the new healthcare bill will save money by slashing hundreds of millions of dollars in Medicare & Medicaid waste.
  • Speaking of Obama – when I think of him these days, I think of this iconic video game character. Our president can’t take a punch. I’ve gone through three phases since the 2008 election. The first stage was depression in which I refused to pay attention to his administration because I knew all he did and said would make me upset. Naturally, the second stage was anger as I decided that I should pay attention. But now, I’m at the third stage, and that is gratitude. Gratitude to our president for singlehandedly reviving the Republican Party and reminding us all that we live in a center-right that does not brook extreme liberalism. Perhaps Obama has some healing powers, after all.
  • The baseball playoffs have been quite annoying so far. Here’s the deal: The Yankees are the best team in baseball. There is no doubt about it, and they definitely deserve to be in the World Series. But it would sure be nice if one team actually made them play well before they win the whole enchilada!! The Twins and Angels engaged in their own contest of which team could make more mental mistakes and managerial errors (I think the Angels won by a nose). I mean, the Yankees haven’t actually played great baseball (half of their lineup is asleep and their non-Mariano bullpen has performed poorly) this October, and yet here they are.
  • Favorite quote of the hour comes from Winston Churchill. He once said, “Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.”  I’ve had my share of failures this year, in my personal life and ministry, and I confess that it’s led to great disappointment and loss of enthusiasm. But I say no more! It’s time to live again with great hope and passion because as Starfield eloquently puts it, “I want to know the mystery/reach out and touch the majesty/I want to hold the hand that holds the world.” Amen.
Leave a Reply

 
