Bob and Weave

Musings of an impostor. Welcome to the masquerade.

surf’s up 10-13-09

Posted by flyingbk on 10/13/2009

I love the internet. From time to time, I’ll post the best of what I’m surfing. Here’s the first entry.. enjoy!

  • Take a look at the second-to-last paragraph of this Washington Times editorial. And ask yourself honestly: Would not President Bush have been endlessly ridiculed for each of these actions? But I bet that you didn’t even know about most of these gaffes. Hmm, I wonder why that is?
  • Gregg Easterbrook is one of my favorite columnists. He writes the indispensable Tuesday Morning Quarterback on ESPN’s Page 2. The football content is very well done, but he also mixes in a variety of non-football nuggets. In last week’s column, he wrote the following:

TMQ has always been an enthusiast for cooling autumn weather — not just because this signals football — and for sweaters. In 1982, I penned for the New York Times’ op-ed page an ode to autumn that included these passages: “Fall is what summer pretends to be, the best of seasons. Fall is as glorious as summer is tedious; as subtle as summer is obvious; as refreshing as summer is wearying. Crisp fall air blows as welcome as the day’s first smell of coffee. Fall’s brilliant colors remind us of the glory of nature and the multitude of things that are possible. Foremost among its qualities, fall is the season of romance. Take an informal poll, and you are nearly certain to find that a high percentage of the world’s precious supply of lasting relationships dates to the fall. Most people attribute this phenomenon to leaves falling, school starting and fireplaces being lit. The real reason is simpler. The real reason is sweaters. Everyone looks better in sweaters.” The year 1982 having been a more composed, less grab-by-the-lapel media period, the Times titled the piece with the ornate pun, “SUMMER, ONLY SKIN DEEP, YIELDS TO SWEATERED WOMEN, MAN’S FALL.”

I found myself nodding while reading this excerpt. I agree, I think I look better in sweaters! I stopped by my old house yesterday, and picked up all my sweaters. I admit, I am excited to rock ’em.

Leave a Reply

 
